A Phillie Teacher

I was a starry-eyed teacher from New Jersey. Now I work for Philadelphia Public Schools.

Boing Boing

Posted by aphillieteacher on December 1, 2009

I teach 12-13 year olds. Their bodies are growing faster than their maturity and you can tell they won’t be terribly coordinated until mind, body, maturity and everything else get synchronized (age 24? ;)

So there’s a big moose of a kid who I can describe only as tall and pudgy who starts every day bouncing around looking for something to knock over or run away from. Bounce bounce bounce up our 6 flights of stairs to the third floor.

Bounce bounce bounce into three kids, ricocheting into some girls, crashing into his desk before falling at last into his seat.

Finally I had to ask him: “Jhalil, How do you have all this energy so early in the day?”

First came the look of suspicion. Why does she want to know that? Then disbelief This must be some kind of joke that I don’t get.” Finally, trust.

There’s a store around the corner from my house where I buy wings. I get 10 wings every day. They’re really good!

ah. Wings. Probably with a soda to wash it all down and just enough to get his engine revving as he arrives at school. Lucky us.

Leave a Reply

 
