A Phillie Teacher

I was a starry-eyed teacher from New Jersey. Now I work for Philadelphia Public Schools.

blogging = visiting a confessional

Posted by aphillieteacher on October 19, 2010

It’s quiet while we bloggers post an entry. We murmur our little worries or triumphs to unseen audiences; sometimes we get replies, sometimes we’re left to make sense of everything by ourselves.
==
One of our deans got socked in the mouth this morning. I didn’t find out who did it, but I heard the girl was taken to the police station in handcuffs.

Later in the day I called for a security guard because the emotionally disturbed girl (mainstreaming) in my class was upset that I asked her to stop talking. “Dickhead. Who you think you’re talkin’ to?” yadda yadda, angrier and angrier. This girl attacked a security guard last year. Not that I was warned: I found out through the grapevine.

I called, but no help came. Our school is listed as “persistently dangerous,” but when a teacher calls for help, no one shows up. Our union rep says he’ll speak to the principal, but he’s known as our building do-nothing.

The dean who got punched is one of the most calm, competent people in the building but even she isn’t safe. I thought I was finished crying about having to work in Philadelphia but I guess not. You have no idea how alone I feel.

6 Responses to “blogging = visiting a confessional”

  1. ((((phillie teacher)))) i wish i had words of comfort. . . i completely understand what you are going through. I wish I could be there to hug you and just let you vent (((phillie))) teaching in urban settings is like teaching in a warzone and nobody gets it.

  2. ricochet said

    It’s not just urban schools. It is like a disease that has spread to include a lot of kids who cannot see where they are headed.

    • So why do they have to be so *ugly* about it? what is wrong with them that they have to make everyone tense and angry as they are?

      I just read that in addition to having 20 schools in our district labeled as “persistently dangerous,” two teachers in our district received concussions from students, in addition to the shoving, punching and other horrible things these kids do.

      What teacher deserves that treatment??

  3. Jen said

    Hallooo — keep checking back for a post. Figured at the almost a month mark it was not too stalkerish to comment and make sure you’re still alive and kicking —

Leave a Reply

 
