A Phillie Teacher

I was a starry-eyed teacher from New Jersey. Now I work for Philadelphia Public Schools.

I’m Back (bitterness alert)

Posted by aphillieteacher on November 22, 2010

I can’t say that I’ve come roaring back stronger than ever. I’m strong but I’ve decided that November is way too soon to be sad, burned out and disillusioned.

It comes down to this: am I wanted here? Really. Let’s be honest.

I’m cursed out by some student every single day. Sometimes I get it from a kid I never met before because I had the nerve to ask him/her to stop running/slapping/screaming/ whatever. “F*ck you” is the common reply, followed by a stream of invective.

Administration is harsh, demanding, and unforgiving with the staff. Kids break rules all the time with little or no repercussions. Hoodies, cell phones, mp3 players and tardiness are all supposed to be stopped at the front door. What a laugh. It falls to the teachers in every classroom in every period to enforce what the administration does not.

The unspoken message is clear: we don’t care about you. We don’t even like you.

Why do I want to stick around for that?

3 Responses to “I’m Back (bitterness alert)”

  1. Yup. said

    Well, I resigned — and, I haven’t felt this good in ages! Starting in January, I’ll sub private, I’ll sub for a couple of our “do good works” sort of schools that do their best to turn kids around, but don’t allow kids to ruin it for those who are trying. I’ll volunteer in my own kid’s school for now. I’ll enjoy a life that isn’t solely focused on school.

    There were a couple too many straws this year. The kids were the very least of it — and when that level of constant stress and angry is the least of it… I miss seeing them, I don’t miss trying to teach them the way I was supposed to do it.

    An unworkable curriculum being strictly enforced, lack of guidance or leadership from a new administrator, a school that’s closing so every teacher is on edge regardless of how capable they are…Too Much.

    • Wow. A few thoughts here: health benefits aren’t a concern? next: godspeed for being able to do what I long for.

      I’m glad to hear you’ll stick with education. I know that it’s in my blood; I just need to find a better place for it. Stay in touch, let us know how things are going

      • Yup. said

        Happyhappy gratefulgrateful to have a spouse with insurance to which we can switch back. Obviously taking a hit in salary and benefits, but having a wife/mother approaching insanity wasn’t working out so well, either. Didn’t hurt that so many teachers in the district have been telling me and every other newish teacher to get out — look anywhere else, do anything else.

        If things don’t change, I honestly wonder how they’ll keep anyone who isn’t desperate in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
