A Phillie Teacher

I was a starry-eyed teacher from New Jersey. Now I work for Philadelphia Public Schools.

Get Tested

Posted by aphillieteacher on January 24, 2011

Nothing to do with reading or thinking.

At New High School, entire English classes are sent to the auditorium to watch a brief video about STDs before then sent to the bathroom with a test kit. Whether they actually urinate in the cup and turn it in for testing is up to the kids. I saw a lot of the students nodding as the presenter ran through statistics and symptoms, so it’s very likely that many of them decided to go ahead and get tested.

I understand that every year they find multiple cases of diseases among the kids. How far they get with treatment, I can’t tell. But at least they’re getting informed.

When I was in high school, all we got was vision screening. I wonder if the suburbs have school-wide programs for STDs?

Leave a Reply

 
