A Phillie Teacher

I was a starry-eyed teacher from New Jersey. Now I work for Philadelphia Public Schools.

Laying Low for Now

Posted by aphillieteacher on February 26, 2011

I want to lay low for a while. Philadelphia Public Schools apparently do not like teachers to be outspoken. Even if I speak from my own experience, not talk about kids or never mention names, there’s a good chance they’d go after me and any other teacher who dared to criticize The District, its Queen Regent or any of her minions.

So here’s what’s going on in Philadelphia schools. I regret deeply that I couldn’t be at yesterday’s rally for Hope Moffett.
Fighting for a High School Community’s Right to be Heard

If you want to read my posts, leave a comment here and I’ll get back to you.

5 Responses to “Laying Low for Now”

  1. ricochet said

    (((hugs)))

    When we shut down communication, we have stopped teaching.

    Inconvenient truths are the essence of what we need to know.

    • I haven’t stopped teaching and I don’t intend to stop blogging. But me being put in a “rubber room” and possibly getting fired is not going to help anyone.

      I don’t know what else to do. I respect your opinion and would appreciate advice.

  2. Jen said

    Keep me in the loop!

  3. Keep me updated when possible. It seems humanity has a self destructive need to be at war; either with our neighbours or with other Countries. It is most depressing. Keep your chin up as we say here – the older ones, anyway.

    Tim.

Leave a Reply

 
